It was still very cold so we did not attend the morning drum ceremony or meditation. We had breakfast as 6:30AM and then were given a tour of the entire grounds including inside of temples and the Koreana depository. The early light was amazing. No tourists and the grounds to ourselves was special.
The original set of woodblocks used to print copies of the Buddhist writings was destroyed by fire during the Mongol invasions of Korea in 1232, when Goryeo's capital was moved to Ganghwa Island during nearly three decades of Mongol incursions, although scattered parts of its prints still remain. To once again implore divine assistance with combating the Mongol threat, King Gojong thereafter ordered the revision and re-creation of the Tripiṭaka; the carving began in 1237 and was completed in 12 years In 1398, it was moved to Haeinsa, where it has remained housed in four buildings. Thousands of scholars and craftsmen were employed in this massive project. The buidlings date back to 702. Where the blocks are stored is very unique.